Solid Points For Smiths Racing At Silverstone


Double British Supersport champions, Smiths Racing, had their penultimate outing of the 2015 season at Silverstone over the weekend with Jake Dixon again contesting the MCE Insurance British Superbike and Motorpoint Supersport Championships respectively but it proved to be a tough weekend for the Gloucester-based team.

Dixon lined up on the second row of the grid for yesterday's Motorpoint Supersport 'Sprint' race and claimed fourth place aboard the factory-backed Smiths Triumph Daytona 675R in what was a relatively lonely ride, to maintain his third place overall in the standings.

The Dover rider started from fifth on the grid for today's longer 'Feature' race and held onto that position for the opening lap. He progressed to fourth a lap later when new champion Luke Stapleford retired and although there was a brief safety car period, he took full advantage to move up to third soon after. However, just half a lap later his race was over as he crashed out at Brooklands, fortunately without injury, although the DNF relegated him to fourth in the standings.

Jake Dixon: "It's been a tough weekend and after crashing in the first free practice session, it put me on the back foot a little bit. The team worked really hard to give me a good set-up and we continually chipped away to improve things. I managed a fourth in the first race, but we made further changes for today and having been fastest in morning warm-up, I felt good for the race. Unfortunately, I just trailed a bit too much front brake so it was my fault and I'd like to say sorry to the team. With losing third overall in the standings, it hasn't been a great day and I've plenty of work to do at the final round."

MCE British Superbike Championship race one (14 laps)
1 Josh Brookes (Yamaha)
2 Shane Byrne (Kawasaki)
3 Peter Hickman (BMW)
4 John Hopkins (Ducati)
5 James Ellison (Kawasaki)
6 Michael Laverty (BMW)
13 Billy McConnell (Smiths Racing BMW)

MCE British Superbike Championship race two (14 laps)
1 Josh Brookes (Yamaha)
2 Michael Laverty (BMW)
3 Dan Linfoot (Honda)
4 Christian Iddon (Suzuki)
5 Shane Byrne (Kawasaki)
6 Richard Cooper (BMW)
DNF Billy McConnell (Smiths Racing BMW)

Championship points (after 11 rounds)
1 Brookes 653pts
2 Byrne 606
3 Ellison 573
4 Laverty 553
5 Linfoot 534
6 Bridewell 531
14 McConnell 97

Motorpoint British Supersport Championship race one (10 laps)
1 Luke Stapleford (Triumph)
2 James Rispoli (Yamaha)
3 Glenn Irwin (Kawasaki)
4 Jake Dixon (Smiths Racing Triumph)
5 Kyle Ryde (Yamaha)
6 Sam Hornsey (Triumph)

Motorpoint British Supersport Championship race two (12 laps)
1 Glenn Irwin (Kawasaki)
2 James Rispoli (Yamaha)
3 Sam Hornsey (Triumph)
4 Ben Wilson (Kawasaki)
5 Kyle Ryde (Yamaha)
6 Luke Hedger (Kawasaki)
DNF Jake Dixon (Smiths Racing Triumph)

Championship points (after 11 rounds)
1 Stapleford 421pts
2 Ryde 320
3 Irwin 304
4 Dixon 297
5 Rispoli 233
6 Reid/Wilson 165

The final round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship takes place at Brands Hatch over the weekend of October 16/18th. For more information, please visit and

Dealer Locator

No Results Available