Podium For Dixon at Knockhill


Podium For Dixon And Points For McConnell At Knockhill

The Smiths Racing Team endured reasonable fortunes at Knockhill in Scotland over the weekend with Jake Dixon salvaging an important podium in the Motorpoint Supersport Championship.

Motorpoint British Supersport 'Sprint' race saw Dover resident Dixon, aboard the factory-backed Triumph Daytona 675R, start from the front row of the grid and he immediately grabbed the lead. By the fifth lap he'd been pushed back down to fourth but as the race went into the closing stages he was back into the podium positions, aided by setting a new lap record. However, with just four laps to go he crashed out, fortunately without serious injury.

Jake Dixon: "It's been a tough couple of rounds and although I've been fast and consistent this weekend, crashing out of the first race was a massive disappointment. With increased lean angle and a bit more gas, I got fired off and it wasn't the best way to start. The second race was a lot better but, to be fair, I should have won it. I was caught napping when the pace car pulled in and although my pace was good when I got going, I'd left it too late. Second place gets me back on track so massive thanks to the team for all their hard work in repairing the bike”.

MCE British Superbike Championship Race One (30 laps)
1 Shane Byrne (Kawasaki)
2 Stuart Easton (Kawasaki)
3 Josh Brookes (Yamaha)
4 Michael Laverty (BMW)
5 Jason O'Halloran (Honda)
6 Danny Buchan (Kawasaki)
12 Billy McConnell (Smiths Racing BMW)

MCE British Superbike Championship Race Two (11 laps)
1 Shane Byrne (Kawasaki)
2 Stuart Easton (Kawasaki)
3 Josh Brookes (Yamaha)
4 Ryuichi Kiyonari (BMW)
5 Jason O'Halloran (Honda)
6 Michael Laverty (BMW)
21 Billy McConnell (Smiths Racing BMW)

Championship points (after five rounds)
1 Byrne 201pts
2 Brookes 166
3 Easton 139
4 Ellison 118
5 O'Halloran 96
6 Bridewell 86
15 McConnell 37

Motorpoint British Supersport Championship Race One (18 laps)
1 Glenn Irwin (Kawasaki)
2 Luke Stapleford (Triumph)
3 Kyle Ryde (Yamaha)
4 Sam Hornsey (Triumph)
5 James Rispoli (Yamaha)
6 Luke Hedger (Kawasaki)
DNF Jake Dixon (Smiths Racing Triumph)

Motorpoint British Supersport Championship Race Two (26 laps)
1 Kyle Ryde (Yamaha)
2 Jake Dixon (Smiths Racing Triumph)
3 Glenn Irwin (Kawasaki)
4 Luke Stapleford (Triumph)
5 Sam Hornsey (Triumph)
6 James Rispoli (Yamaha)

Championship points (after five rounds)
1 Irwin 172pts
2 Ryde 171
3 Stapleford 169
4 Dixon 130
5 Collier 83
6 Webb 74

Dealer Locator

No Results Available